About the Library

Library Hours
Library Location
General Information
Mission
Closed Dates

Library Hours

Monday-Thursday 8:00am – 6:00pm
Friday 8:00am – 5:00pm
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed

 

 

 

Library Location

library location in government center

Location of the Library in the Ventura County Government Center. Click the image to be taken to Google Maps for directions

The Ventura County Law Library is located on the first floor of the Hall of Justice in the Ventura County Government Center complex, 800 S. Victoria Avenue, Ventura, California. The Law Library entrance is directly opposite parking lot “A.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

General Information

The Ventura County Law Library was established April 18, 1891 under a California statute, Chapter CCXXV, approved March 31st of that year. It is a state local governmental agency separate from the county and operates pursuant to California Business and Professions Code 6300 et.seq

The Law Library is governed by a six-member board of trustees consisting of representatives from the Ventura County Superior Court, the County Board of Supervisors, and the Ventura County Bar Association. The Director of the Law Library serves as the Secretary to the Board. Law Library operations are financed primarily through a portion of the filing fee paid by parties involved in civil cases in the Ventura County Superior Court. The County of Ventura provides the library quarters, utilities and maintenance.

The Law Library is available to anyone who needs to use the collection and services. Judges, attorneys, paralegals, students, residents of Ventura County and visitors to the County are welcome.

Dolly Knight, Director.

 

Mission Statement

The mission of the Ventura County Law Library is to provide access to current legal resources by providing an up-to-date research collection, supporting services, and new technologies possible within the scope of funding available to the Law Library. The Law Library’s primary obligation is to serve the citizens and the legal community of Ventura County. Secondary obligations include service to other Ventura County libraries, other California county law libraries and the state law library, and other attorneys, citizens and libraries in the state of California.

 

2017 Closed Dates:

Monday, January 2 New Year’s Day Observed
Monday, January 16 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday, February 20 President’s Day
Monday, May 29 Memorial Day
Friday, June 30 Inventory and Staff Training
Tuesday, July 4 Fourth of July
Monday, September 4 Labor Day
Friday, November 10 Veterans Day Observed
Thursday, November 23 and Friday, November 24 Thanksgiving
Monday, December 25 Christmas Day
Monday, January 1, 2018 New Year’s Day

2016 Closed Dates:

Friday, January 1 New Year’s Day
Monday, January 18 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday, February 15 President’s Day
Monday, May 30 Memorial Day
Monday, July 4 Fourth of July
Monday, September 5 Labor Day
Friday, November 11 Veterans Day
Thursday, November 24 and Friday November 25 Thanksgiving
Monday, December 26 Christmas Day Observed
Monday, January 2, 2017 New Year’s Day Observed